How Am I A Different Learner Now?

In this blog post, I’m comparing the learner I am now to the learner I was last year. I think that my learning style changed a lot this year. This is mostly due to the fact that I changed schools. Not just from middle to high school, but I changed from Swiss school in German to MYP high school in English. As English is my mother tongue, I am more comfortable speaking it than German, even though I speak German fluently. This means that I am now more likely to synergize with others. Last year, I would go along with what everyone else wanted because I was too shy to speak my mind. This year, I am much more assertive with my ideas. On the Hitchcock film project, Maud, Tom and I all gave our ideas and came to a conclusion together. When I gave my ideas, I explained why I thought they were good ideas and built off of others’ ideas as well to combine and make something great!

Screenshot 2016-05-10 15.19.40
Collaboration. Chris Lott, 2006. Source: Flickr

 

2 thoughts on “How Am I A Different Learner Now?

  1. Hey Sophie,
    I find your post powerful because it really compared how you changed from last year to this year and the reason why. I would like to know more about how you changing schools helped you in other ways and if it helped you be more of an inquirer and to be more open minded.
    Well done

    Like

  2. Well I felt that your first paragraph was your best (not just because it is the only paragraph and therefore wins by default), I think you were able to tell the story of you arriving here at ISZL effectively discussing the challenges of your old school and how being here has improved you as a learner.

    I think I would be most interested in a Paragraph written by you on Principled and how that has been effected by moving to ISZL or if it has not.

    Like

Leave a comment